97004 Mozart, Wolfgang Amadé

    Delivery time:5-7 days
Add to cart
  • Description

"Prager Sinfonie" KV 540

bearbeitet von Nepomuk Hummel



The arrangement of Mozart's "Prague" Symphony by Nepomuk Hummel (1778-1837) is one of numerous examples of a practice common in the 19th century of arranging popular symphonies for one's own use. In addition to the usual arrangements for four-hand piano, Hummel's versions for flute, violin, violoncello and piano have survived, including Mozart's symphonies and Beethoven's nine symphonies.

Unlike the arrangements of Haydn's "London" symphonies by Salomon for flute, 2 violins, viola and cello, in which the piano part is ad libitum, in Hummel's versions the lion's share is given to the piano, probably for not entirely altruistic reasons, for Hummel was famous for his pianistic abilities.

This new edition is based on the first edition published by Schott.

The text is reproduced unchanged.

Related Products